Posted by: jmartin7 | June 19, 2010

I Want To Be A Boy Scout Again!

It’s Saturday and boy was I looking forward to sleeping in. Have you ever had one of those mornings where your eyes just popped open and there was no way you were going to be allowed to go back to sleep. Yep, this is one of those mornings. I guess that’s alright because sleeping in is highly overrated anyway.

So, as I lay there in bed I couldn’t help but think about being a Boy Scout. I was a
Boy Scout when I was young and loved it! I was able to do some pretty cool things back then like tying knots, camping out in the woods, learning first-aid, tracking snipe (then after about an hour I found out there is no such thing as a snipe), hanging out with other boys my age and all the while learning some pretty cool things like…the Boy Scout Pledge.

So, what is the Boy Scout Pledge you may be asking? Well, of course you know that any reasonable boys club type organization has to have a pledge…right? I mean, boys just can’t get together and not pledge something. It’s…THE LAW!

So in case you didn’t know, a Boy Scout is: Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean and Reverent. There you go. Twelve of the most difficult things for any 11 to 16 year old boy to even attempt to be! And yes, I still have them memorized.

When I think back on these most noble attributes from the Boy Scout handbook, I can’t help but think how difficult these are to walk out in life. There are some pretty powerful concepts here. I mean, how many parents actually teach their children to be trustworthy or loyal or thrifty or…reverent?

REVERENT?? What in the world does reverence have to do with being a Boy Scout? Isn’t that one of those “churchy” words that you don’t hear anymore? Hmmm…let me pull up my handy online copy of Webster’s dictionary. Now, lets see. Here it is…REVERENT: expressing or characterized by reverence or…WORSHIPFUL. (momentary pause and wonderment)

Yes, worshipful! What a novel concept to teach an eleven year old boy. In an age when almost every adult influence teaches us that worshiping the Creator of the universe is either antiquated or not allowed in public forums, the Boy Scouts get it right!

I want to teach my son, Ethan to be reverent. A not just in church reverent but an everyday reverence. I want him to know that there is such a thing as knowing that God is a Holy, Holy, Holy God and that He should be approached as such. I want Ethan to know that the Lord says to “Be holy as I am holy.” What an awesome concept to think that God would equate me with having the ability to be holy! I could never attain holiness by my own efforts. Only in and through Him can I possibly reach any measure of holiness. But, it begins with reverence. I believe that in this day and age each of us needs to step back and take time to realize that eternity is closer than we think. How can we approach the living God face to face when we have never practiced how to be reverent here?

Let me end by giving my own simple definition of reverence: I fully understand that He is God alone, and I am not. Take a moment and meditate on what it means to be reverent and let the Holy Spirit speak to you. Go ahead…be a Boy Scout today!

Jack

Leave a Reply

Categories

