Posted by: jmartin7 | July 2, 2010

He Never Lets Go!

One of my favorite songs of late is “You Never Let Go” by Matt Redman. I love what the song has to say. We sang it this Sunday at church and as I was singing it the light began to come on. It’s true…He never lets go of us because He never abandons His promises! We ARE His promise.

I’ve been around the church scene since I was a child. I grew up in the church and have been singing regularly since I was a teen. That was a long time ago and the songs have definitely changed. I still love the great hymns of the church like “Amazing Grace,” “Great Is Thy Faithfulness,” and “All Hail The Power of Jesus’ Name.” Those songs lift me and cause me to remember the greatness of God and the faithfulness of His AWESOME son Jesus.

Thankfully, many Christian artists of today are carrying on that wonderful tradition of reminding us, as we worship, of the mighty hand of God. This worship song by Redman, in a very non-traditional way, takes us to a place where we realize just how loving and faithful our Father is in His relationship with us. He NEVER lets go!

Our lives are filled with peaks and valleys, ups and downs, triumphs and tragedies. We all experience times when things couldn’t be better and times when it seems that things can’t get any worse. That’s life. But in the midst of all of these times, our heavenly Father, the great I AM is carefully watching over every event in our lives. That very thought causes me to marvel at His greatness! The Creator of the universe is actively involved in my small existence so much that He notices every little event that goes on in my life…WOW!!!

The Bible says that “we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus.” To me, that says that we are all an unfinished vessel that continues to be shaped and fashioned by the hand of the Master. Think of a master woodworker who has thousands of projects sitting before him. Which one does he pick up and work on today? Where will the first stroke of the blade take him as he begins to carve out the promise? What will be the end result?

It is said that a true craftsman can take a block of wood, look at it for a moment and see the finished product. That amazes me. I look at that same piece of wood and all I see is, well, a block of wood. That’s the difference between vision and sight. I see the wood, the artist sees a swan.

No craftsman of any worth works on the next project until the one is finished. Not our glorious, heavenly Father. He patiently designs and crafts billions of unfinished pieces every day. However, He always sees the finished product even before He begins. We are His workmanship and what He always sees is an eternal work. Not just what we’re going through today but what we will look like in glory. Our God is an AWESOME God indeed!

One last comment: As I look back on our worship service at Anderson Mill Road this past Sunday, I think of how often the name of Jesus was mentioned. That name, that wonderful name was the focus of both our time of worship and the word that Pastor DJ preached. When His name is exalted, the enemy flees and the glory of God is revealed. I’ve been in many church services where the work of the devil seemed to be the focus of the entire service. The subject of “spiritual warfare” tends to lift up Satan and his work sometimes more than the fact that Jesus “destroyed the work of the evil one.” We, as the body of Christ, need to be careful when we come together that we ascribe glory to our mighty God instead of talking up the power of Satan. He is a DEFEATED foe who has no power in and of himself. He is eternally limited in his influence with God’s property and can only be given the power to act in our lives if we give it to him. When we place our focus on Jesus and His authority, the devil has no outlet to do anything in our lives. OUR GOD REIGNS!

So, when someone begins to tell you how much the devil is trying to get hold of you simply tell them, “My Daddy has me in His arms and He NEVER lets go!!”

Jack

Responses

  1. Amen and amen. Jack, I love the insight and the words the Lord has given you. On my run this morning I kept thinking of and thanking Him that I am His and He’s not letting go. Thanks for putting it into words so well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

